Skip to content

recipe: slow cooker super bowl chili

February 5, 2012

I’m not going to pretend I’ve ever cared about football or the Super Bowl – most years I’m lucky if I even know who’s playing – but I do love getting together with friends to eat, hang out, watch some funny commercials and a half-time show and call it a day.  That said, it would have been SOOOOO great to have the 49ers in it this year!  I would have FINALLY watched an actual game.  Oh well – there’s always next year – and now I can get back to my regular routine of worrying about the food 🙂  I started the tradition of making chili, cornbread and all the fixings for the super bowl about 5 years ago.  I know a lot of people do this and I know why – it’s easy, hearty, and delicious, and men, women and kids all love it.  I used to make a few varieties (traditional, veggie, and something else) but this one was always the favorite that was gone by the end of the day and I’d have leftovers of the others for weeks, so why fight it?  Now this is the only one I make.  Here’s the recipe:

Slow Cooker Super Bowl Chili (this is good for a party (12+ people) and can be halved if you don’t have that many mouths to feed!):

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 4 (10.75 ounce) cans low sodium tomato soup
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans kidney beans, drained
  • 4 (15 ounce) can black beans, drained
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 2 pinches ground black pepper
  • 2 pinches ground allspice
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Saute the onion until they’re translucent, about 6 minutes; set aside.  Place beef in the skillet, and cook until evenly brown; drain.
  2. Coat the inside of a slow cooker with cooking spray, and mix in beef, tomato soup, kidney beans, black beans and onion. Season with chili powder, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, cumin, black pepper, allspice and salt.
  3. Cover, and cook 8 hours on Low or 4 hours on High.
  4. Serve with cornbread, shredded cheese, sour cream, sliced green onions, avocado and anything else you want!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

