Skip to content

big news!

October 13, 2010

Well, it’s been a while since I last posted – when I started this blog I had a goal of writing something – anything – at least once a day, but then life got in the way and it hasn’t ended up working out exactly that way, but I’ve been pretty good. That went to hell about a month ago, but I DO have a really good excuse for why I’ve been absent for a longer period of time this time… I’m pregnant! YIPPEEE!!!! My husband and I are deliriously lucky and did not have to try very hard for the bun to be officially placed in the oven, thank goodness – I have heard too many stories of wonderful families who have to work so hard to get pregnant it makes me want to cry.

That said, this has been a VERY different pregnancy than my last one and I am flat-out-dead-dog-bone tired all. the. time. I literally have barely been able to keep my head up for the past month and any time I’ve had to myself has been spent on the couch simultaneously trying not to expend an ounce of energy while also trying not to puke. Ugh. Why is it so different this time?? Last time I had it SOOOO easy – I didn’t have an ounce of nausea, everything I ate tasted delicious, I got up every morning to exercise, and skipped through those nine months with flowers in my hair and birds chirping around my head. I just couldn’t understand why people complained about it. Now I know. Here is a list of what I go through on a daily basis this time around:

1. At any given moment, I am either nauseous or STARVING

2. Starving doesn’t begin to describe what I feel – one minute I think I might throw up, and then all of a sudden I’m hit with an “I might have to eat my own arm because the thought of having to wait until I walk all the way to the kitchen to shove something in my ravenous mouth is just too much to bear” kind of hunger. It’s debilitating.

3. I have been so completely tired I am almost unable to function as a human being, let alone a working full time mother of an almost two-year-old human being. Showering has almost completely dropped off the list of what I’m able to accomplish on a given day – I usually only manage it every third day right now. Sorry, I know that’s totally gross, but I’m just being honest, and I believe you can’t understand the level of exhaustion I’m experiencing unless I admit that fact.

4. All food is gross. Because I go from nausea to hunger at the flip of a switch, what usually ends up happening is that whatever food I end up putting in my mouth only makes me feel ill a minute later, and permanently crosses that food off the list of “what sounds good”. Right now, water is almost the only thing that sounds good at any given moment.

5. I’m already showing. I swear. It’s hard to tell and I still fit in all my clothes, but it’s there. I had heard you show earlier after your first pregnancy, but seriously?? Give me a month more at least! I suppose my uterus has already been stretched out before and is looking forward to relaxing again, but this is just ridiculous. I have a wedding to go to in two weeks and I’d better fit into my dress is all I can say. With my first I was still in my skinny jeans about 5 months in – that is definitely not going to be happening this time around. I also read on a website that I don’t need to adjust how many calories I eat during the first trimester at all – really? Try telling that to my stomach at 4am when it’s eating itself and forces me to get up and eat a bowl of cereal.

I think the only typical symptom I haven’t been displaying is moodiness, although I suppose I’m not really an objective source for that info – you’d have to ask my husband to be sure, but if he knows what’s good for him he’d agree that I’ve been a perfect angel šŸ™‚

Anyway, while it might be hard to tell from all my complaining above, I’m SO excited to be pregnant and am constantly daydreaming about babies and what a great older sister my daughter will be. I can’t wait. I have my first pre-natal visit tomorrow, so please keep your fingers crossed that we get to hear the magical sounds of a tiny heartbeat!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 12:26 pm

    If you need help with names stop by….I along with the staff would be delighted to have you…stop by…when you get a chance…

    http://babynameconsultants.wordpress.com/

  2. tinkchick permalink
    October 15, 2010 7:17 am

    congrats lindsay!
    i happened upon this blog when googling your other blog to see how ally was doing. i am such a stalker.
    good luck with everything!

    cameron

Leave a Reply

