Skip to content

photography lesson: sunburst

August 26, 2010

I learned a new trick yesterday I wanted to share! I love the look of the sunburst in photos – you know, where the light comes through the trees and you can see the rays of sunlight and it makes you feel like you’re in a dream or a fairy tale? Well I finally found the secret – aperture. The more closed your aperture (aka the higher the number), the better the sunburst effect will be. These photos are nothing to look at, I admit – I was just experimenting with the sunburst phenomenon, and here you have it. First picture had the aperture at a 5.0:

Nothing special AT ALL.

Then I set the aperture to 18:

Look at those sunbursts!

Then I got intoxicated on the rays shooting through the camera and couldn’t control myself, so I set the aperture to 32:

Yowza.  And that, my friends, is the secret to sunbursts.  Class dismissed!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

