Skip to content

photography lesson: take photos you normally wouldn’t

August 22, 2010

My husband and I headed to Sonoma on Saturday just to get out of town for the day. We stopped first in Marin to have coffee with some friends and catch up, and then headed to Cafe Citti in Kenwood for lunch (delicious!) before heading to B.R. Cohn for a tasting and finally to the square to walk around and see the ducks in the park.  I also used it as an excuse to lug the camera around and pretend I was a real photographer, taking artsy shots and crouching down and hopefully making everyone around me think “ooh – she must be very creative and interesting” instead of “that lady’s nuts”.  For all my efforts, my favorites were still the ones of my daughter – I know I’m biased, but she is just so more interesting than vines and buildings. During the day, I tried to keep my camera out so that I’d keep taking photos of things I normally wouldn’t.

Like my daughter just going down steps:

.

Or standing in front of a boring white background:

.

Or a surly expression:

.

Or staring at ducks:

.

And the ones I thought would never turn out and would look just plain weird, I love:

.

.

Take the photo you don’t think you’ll want – you never know what you’re going to get!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2010 10:14 am

    These are beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing, gave me ideas for when I take pictures of my nieces and nephews =)

    -Casper

    P.S. Your daughter is sooo cute!

Leave a Reply

