Skip to content

children’s book review: Welcome to the Zoo!

August 14, 2010

I think I discovered Alison Jay while roaming the time-sucking quicksands of Amazon.com, and am SO glad I did. I was immediately drawn to her unique illustrations and have since purchased her books as gifts and for my daughter. The one we are loving right now is Welcome to the Zoo.  It doesn’t have any words, which is great for toddler-age when they are learning to talk because you can just spend as much time on the pages as you’d like and point out all the different things you see.  I’m constantly amazed at the eagle-eyes of my daughter, who seems to find something new every time.  I just love the illustrations – they are so full of life, color and whimsy – they turn me into a little girl right beside my daughter while we ooh and ahh over all the different animals.

What a great shower, new-baby or birthday gift!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 6:38 am

    My brother is having a baby soon (well, more specifically, his wife is) and I will definitely check this out for the future! Looks adorable!

Leave a Reply

