Skip to content

photography lesson: the power of black and white

August 13, 2010

I only work M-TH, so on Fridays I have a nice mommy/daughter day that usually involves a morning stroll around the neighborhood and a stop at the park (and okay, fine, maybe a stop at the donut shop).  Today was pretty overcast, so I grabbed the camera and brought it with us to see if I could get any good shots since I know that photographers usually prefer not-so-sunny skies.  In the end, it was a little too gloomy and the color shots looked kind of depressing and I wasn’t loving any of them.  Then I thought maybe making them black and white would add something to them, and what do you know!  I actually like quite a few!  Next time you think you have a bunch of boring shots, try making them black and white and see if you can change the hand you were dealt.  Here are my faves from this morning:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

