Skip to content

photography lesson #2

August 10, 2010

One Saturday morning I was bored, and figured, what better time to play with the camera?  And what better subject to test things out on than the latte sitting in front of me?  I had read somewhere about composition and the rule of thirds:  basically, if you draw imaginary lines on a photo to cut it into thirds both horizontally and vertically, you end up with four intersecting points:

 The idea is to compose the photo so that one of the intersecting points is on the center of your subject – if you do this, the photograph will be more “pleasing to the eye”.  You can see the photo above doesn’t really have anything centered on any of the four points, making the picture a bit “blah”.  So I tried to focus one of the four points (in this case the upper left) on the center of the coffee istelf inside the cup:

Better, but a bit too close – didn’t give much of a story.  So I zoomed out a bit, keeping the upper left point centered in the coffee:

I kinda like this one!  Creating the off-center focus makes a boring cup of coffee a bit more interesting.  This is one trick I’m going to keep using to see if it can add a little magic to otherwise “blah” pictures.  Try it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 5:15 pm

    I like your tips! You demonstrate well and speak a language I can understand. Great job!

  2. August 10, 2010 5:24 pm

    Good demonstration! I like the last one too – so simple but very effective 🙂

Leave a Reply

