Skip to content

recipe: cheaters oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

August 1, 2010

I should warn you, this isn’t really a recipe in the normal sense of the word, and under normal circumstances I think store-bought mixes are a sacrilege, but when time is tight and you want a cookie, you gotta do what you gotta do. 

This is a great short cut to get better cookies than buying the refrigerated dough, and almost as easy.  I’ve made these for numerous events when I’m short on time and they’ve become my standard new-baby-visit gift (oatmeal is good for milk production, so technically a nursing mom can eat all she wants of these – they’re health food), and no one has ever suspected they’re a mix.  I’ve been asked for the recipe a couple of times and bitterly had to reveal my deep dark secret.  Anyway, I digress… for a long time I couldn’t figure out why the ready-made  chocolate chip stuff didn’t do it for me – and then I realized… it was the chocolate.  The chocolate used in the refrigerated dough has something done to it (I don’t know what) that makes it bland and plastic-y – not the gooey delicious chocolate of the home-made stuff.  So that’s when I decided, I’d buy the plain cookie mix and add my own chocolate chips, and voila!  Delicious.

Here’s my tried and true version that I make about once a week (no joke – I’m a cookie addict – my husband calls me cookie monster).

First: the cast of store-bought characters:

And here’s the recipe:

  1. 1 bag Betty Crocker Oatmeal Cookie mix
  2. 1 tsp cinnamon (this isn’t on the bag, I just think oatmeal cookies should have a good cinnamon flavor)
  3. 1 tbsp water
  4. 1 large egg
  5. 1/2 cup (or one stick) butter, softened
  6. 1 cup Nestle’s Toll House Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (or whatever your drug of choice – Godiva?  Ghirardelli?  Fine.)

Dump the cookie mix into a bowl and add the cinnamon – mix so it’s evenly incorporated.  Next add the water, egg and butter and mix until it’s all combined – this can take a little elbow grease, but trust me, you’ll get there.  Finally, mix in the cup of chocolate chips.

Plop spoon fulls on a cookie-sheet and bake in a 375 degree oven for 10-12 minutes or until they start to lightly brown (I usually make mine a bit bigger, so they can take up to 14 minutes). 

Enjoy! 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

