Skip to content

book review: The Help

July 8, 2010

My sister in law was kind enough to let me borrow The Help and let me tell you, I couldn’t put it down.  It was heart-wrenching, funny, suspensful, dramatic… all the adjectives that make up a GREAT book.  For some reason, I had picked it up a few times at the bookstore, but never actually bought it.  I guess the topic (black maids and their white -lady bosses) just seemed like more than I could deal with at that moment, but it was delightful.  It wasn’t overly intense or political, and had just enough lightness and humor to make such a serious subject flow easily.  The charaters were original, interesting and fabulous and the fact that the author writes in the prose of how they spoke is fantastic and makes it seem so authentic.  I can’t say enough about it – now go read it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

