Skip to content

book review: Born To Run

June 4, 2010

I was an avid runner.  I say “was” because now, sadly, I am not.  After I had my daughter and was getting up multiple times a night, I just couldn’t muster up the energy to get back out there and pound the pavement like I used to – I’d rather sleep.  But that didn’t stop me from reading this book because I still consider running a big part of my life and hope one day to get back into it.  This book made we want to get back into it. It documents a tribe of indians in Mexico that are known for their ability to run rediculous distances – like, 100 miles rediculous.  But it also discusses bare-foot running, and profiles some incredible ultra-runners (a sport I didn’t even know of until now), all culminating in a 50 mile foot race in the canyons of Mexico.  The history of running is great, the characters are complete wackos (which I loved) and it’s just a great story.  If you’ve ever been a runner, I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

